IAME ANNUAL CONFERENCE 2004 (June 30/ July 02, 2004) IZMIR - TURKEY

Link to updated conference web page


On behalf of the Dokuz Eylül University, School of Maritime Business and Management(SMBM) we have the honor to invite you to participate in International Maritime Economists (IAME) Annual Conference 2004 which will be organized in Izmir, the most important port city of Turkey.

Turkey, standing at the crossroads of major trade routes between Europe and Asia and the cradle for a succession of major world civilizations dating back 8,000 years, hosts many transit routes betweenWest and East through her lands.

The city of Izmir lies on the West Coast of Anatolia and is surrounded by the rich plains of the Aegean Region. With more than 5000 years of history, Izmir is known as being the center of culture, trade and civilization and as the gateway of Anatolia to Europe with its port.

As the leading higher education institute in Turkey concerning maritime business and management, it will be our honor to host the distinguished scientists of the international maritime community together with all our colleagues from the region, such as the European Union, Black Sea, Balkan, Middle East, Eurasia, Caucasian, CIS and Turkic countries.

We believe, enlightened by the traditional scientific atmosphere of the IAME meetings, IAME Annual Conference 2004 will also be a fruitful opportunity for maritime economists to discuss and contribute to the maritime issues.





  • Republic of Turkey Prime Ministry Undersecretariat of Maritime Affairs
  • Turkish Chamber of Shipping
  • Izmir Metropolitan Municipality
  • ARKAS shipping co.
  • Piri Reis Foundation
  • UZMAR shipping and trade ltd.


      Honorary Chair

      Prof. Dr. Emin ALICI, President of Dokuz Eylül University

      Conference Chair
      Prof. Dr. A. Güldem CERIT, Director of School of Maritime Business and Management

      International Steering Committee
      Amir ALIZADEH Cass Business School, UK
      Alfred J. BAIRD Napier University, UK
      Karl-Heinz BREITZMANN Rostock University, Germany
      Mary R. BROOKS Dalhousie University, Canada
      A. Güldem CERIT Dokuz Eylul University, Turkey
      Kevin CULLINANE University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
      Sophia EVERETT Victoria University, Australia
      Ernst FRANKEL Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
      David R. GLEN London Metropolitan University, UK
      Costas GRAMMENOS Cass Business School, UK
      Richard GOSS Cardiff University, UK
      Kiyoshi HARA Kobe University of Mercantile Marine, Japan
      Hercules E. HARALAMBIDES Erasmus University, Netherlands
      Trevor HEAVER University of British Columbia, Canada
      Jan HOFFMANN UNCTAD, Switzerland
      Joon-Soo JON Seo-Kang University, Korea
      Manolis G. KAVUSSANOS Athens University, Greece
      Shashi KUMAR Maine Maritime Academy, USA
      Jong Ook LEE Korea Maritime Institute, Korea
      Heather LEGGATE London Metropolitan University, UK
      Nikolaos LITINAS University of the Aegean, Greece
      Shuo MA World Maritime University, Sweden
      Ugo MARCHESE University of Genoa, Italy
      Peter MARLOW Cardiff University, UK
      James McCONVILLE London Metropolitan University, UK
      Kunio MIYASHITA Kobe University, Japan
      Daniel Seong-Hyeok MOON Korea Maritime University, Korea
      Enrico Luigi MUSSO University of Genoa, Italy
      Henriette C. Van NIERKERK Stellenbosch University, South Africa
      Ross ROBINSON Macquarie University, Australia
      Micheal ROE University of Plymouth, UK
      Ricardo J. SANCHEZ Austral University, Argentina
      Siri Pettersen STRANDENESS Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration, Norway
      Martin STOPFORD Clarkson's Research, UK
      Wayne TALLEY Old Dominion University, USA
      Jose TONGZON National University of Singapore, Singapore
      Marisa VALLERI University of Bari, Italy
      Eddy VAN DE VOORDE University of Antwerp, Belgium
      Willy WILKENMANS University of Antwerp, Belgium
      Zhaolin WU Dalian Maritime University, China
      Shicheng YU Shanghai Maritime University, China
      Renyi ZHANG Shanghai Jiaotong University, China


      Local Organizing Committee
      Prof. Dr. A. Güldem CERIT (Chair)
      Assoc. Prof.  Okan TUNA

      Asst. Prof. Dr. Omur Saatcıoglu
      Cpt. Yusuf ZORBA
      Lec. H.İ.Halil KESİKTAŞ
      Ayse Bilge YILMAZ




      Conference Secretariat
      Address: Dokuz Eylul University
      School of Maritime Business and Management
      Kaynaklar Campus BUCA 35160 Izmir / TURKEY
      Phone: +90-232-453-4992
      Fax: +90-232-453-8197
      E-mail: iame-2004@deu.edu.tr